PDA

View Full Version : When is it time to quit?

TaoBoy
01-30-2003, 08:52 PM
I've been working in IT for 5 years now. And I've grown to dislike it with a passion. I am currently studying in order to follow another career path.

So, when is it a good time to quit?

1. As soon as you hate going to work everyday?
2. As soon as you have chosen your new path?
3. As soon as you can make enough $$$ to eat?
4. As soon as you have shagged the gorgeous brunette in accounts?

Happiness is more important than work...

Your thoughts?

dezhen2001
01-30-2003, 09:03 PM
i would say its prudent to have something else lined up or at least a clear sense of direction first... but being happy IS more important.

more important to quitting the job is to try and understand WHAT is making u unhappy... for example:

lately i have absolutely HATED doing any design work... my work sucks, my mind isnt in it and it has no character.. just run of the mill garbage. not good when you are at university. but i found the problem is based on many things 1) my personal life and some bad stuff thats happened 2) my lecturers suck and dont have a clue about the subject 3) my class is full or arrogant *******s 4) all the above lead to a big spell of depression which means i am resitting my final year.

but now i have changed some simple things in my life and have someone to share my probs with (and who cares about me), things are starting to get better.

so i think its important to find out whats causing it more than just leaving, or it may happen elsewhere too.

just imo and good luck:)
dawood

ps. to answer the question, all 4 is best - 1-3 being optional :D

Serpent
01-30-2003, 09:03 PM
I'd go with a combination of 3 and 4.

If we stopped working as soon as we hated it most people would be unemployed!

David Jamieson
01-30-2003, 09:22 PM
when it is hurting your soul, you must leave.

when it is stopping your mind, leave.

when it fades your life into nothing, leave.