PDA

View Full Version : Northern Shaolin and kicking

YoungForest
10-31-2000, 03:37 PM
I ma currently studing northern shaolin and I have 2 years of experience in ITF taekwon-do..and when i transfered to shaolin, i was very disapointed to see that we hardly practiced kicking..

And when we do...its low kicks, never higher then your waiste..is this how the system is or just something stupid the teacher made up cause he's too lazy to kick high

Grays Anatomy
10-31-2000, 03:53 PM
No - this is not something your instructor made up. Though there are higher kicks in many Kung Fu styles - you will find (prticularly in comparison to TKD) that the Northern Shaolin kicks are lower (knee to hip/abdomen). This is also true of many of the Kung FU styles (certainly so for Lung Jop Pai (Northern Dragon) and for Hung Ga)

Many Northern Instructors teach that as you go above your own waist you begin to lose power. This is assuming you are standing - there are kicks with you down on all fours, kicking backwards at an opponent in Fu Jow Pai (Tiger) for example where you are obviously kicking above your own waist but you will find that most of your NS kicks hover around the waist or below.

Hope that helps

Jaguar Wong
10-31-2000, 05:07 PM
I've been doing Northern Shaolin for about 5 years now, and there are plenty of high kicks. They're all up in the forms we practice.

Some people show up with a TKD background, and seem to fit right in with the kicking methods. As far as application, the kicks are mid to low level (solar plexus to knee/ankle with the occasional thust kick to the sternum). If you train your kicks at all levels then you increase your flexibility, and power.