PDA

View Full Version : Biu Jee Punches

YungChun
02-02-2003, 04:45 AM
The punches from Biu Jee, sometimes called whipping punches have some interesting attributes. Can anyone who is at the Biu Jee level or higher share some insights into the purpose, function and uses of these punches?

Thanks,

YC

yenhoi
02-02-2003, 11:29 AM
"fine manuvering technique..."

Has something to do with creating space, and weaving/snaking/seeking the little cracks and folds and the big handle-like structures so you can strike/control centerline(s) (specifically the 'whipping' punches.)

I think. But I am fairly new to the 3rd form.

:)

TjD
02-02-2003, 12:21 PM
which punches?

there are a few in biu jee, and they are not all the same

anerlich
02-02-2003, 02:52 PM
Except for two punches at the beginnnig and three punches at the end, which are essentially the same as those performed in CK or SLT, there are no punches in TWC's Bil Jee. All palms, elbows or finger strikes.

TjD
02-02-2003, 04:08 PM
our biu jee has two punches at the beginning (none at the end).

halfway through theres a section which has two straight punches (i assume these are the whipping punches hes referring to),

however my sigung (ip ching) changed these. they used to be uppercuts (which i prefer, and think fit the form better. then again he has a whole lot more experience :D ) - he changed the uppercut in our chum kiu to a straight punch as well.

i use both, quite often.

im assuming our biu jees are rather different (whats your lineage?) as the only other punches are not really whipping punches at all. i feel they train the ability to strike from an extended arm position to another extended arm position as opposed to retracting the extended arm to extend it again (my sifu likes to use the phrase 'long bridge power').

yuanfen
02-02-2003, 06:06 PM
the biu jee- this is another area where there is great diversity in wing chun- for a variety of reasons.

YungChun
02-02-2003, 09:07 PM