PDA

View Full Version : How many of you have faced up to BJJ and MMA?

carly
02-07-2003, 12:58 PM
I'm thinking of "giving in" and joining a BJJ class to learn how to deal with these types of grapplers on the ground.
Anyone here still in denial about their groundfighting abilities?

ewallace
02-07-2003, 01:04 PM
I am not sure I understand your mindset of "giving in". If it stands to benefit your training and ability to defend yourself, then the matter of it being MMA, CMA, FMA, JMA should not be a factor. It's not as though you will be joining the darkside. :)

red5angel
02-07-2003, 01:07 PM
carly- are you a TMA practitioner now? I was, I studied wingchun for 4 years. I have chosen to go to more of a sport fighting format and am taking grappling at the moment. I think it is a good add-on to anyone who doesn't have the time to study their art deeply or feels their art is incomplete. the only thing I say is that you look deeply into whta it is you are studying now to make sure it doesn't have its own answers.

carly
02-07-2003, 01:10 PM
and going over to the dark side!
I'm a traditional Chinese martial arts practicioner and I've learned chinese grappling, but yes, the groundwork is obviosuly the specialty of BJJ and I think it's so commonly used and widely known nowadays that it's pretty much essential to be familiar with it.

KC Elbows
02-07-2003, 01:23 PM
Going to the ground is considered fair game when we're sparring. I'm okay at it, but experienced ground fighters can destroy me there, but I have a better chance because I work on it than I would otherwise.

ShaolinTiger00
02-07-2003, 01:46 PM
Good for you Carly! another convert. *rings the bell*

Ford Prefect
02-07-2003, 01:57 PM