PDA

View Full Version : 18 seeking guidance

Mengshi
01-20-2001, 04:40 AM
I’m 18 seeking some sort of honest information on how to and where to begin to study Shaolin Kung Fu. Ok, I know there are many forms/paths of Shaolin Kung Fu and each path will lead you to a better life, but, my question is, which “style” should I focus on the most to best fit my life and/or my goals.
Here is a little bit about me. I am currently in college, and my free time is spent working at Best Buy (minium hours) and working out at home (all of course if I am not studying). I do practice meditation, probably in its most primitive state. However, it is some sort of relaxation to my mind and body. I studied Tae Kwon Do for many years, but found it more of a sport than anything, don’t get me wrong, I did learn a lot. I also study Chinese on the side, but I have just started that; so, I am still short of understanding the language.
My goals? Well, I just wish to achieve and learn the most I can from this life. Not much to my goals eh? But after all I have been asked to be guided :) Any help or info will be appreciated :)
-Thank you -“1st post”

reemul
01-20-2001, 06:08 AM
What makes your task difficult is that you wish to study Shaolin kung fu. What sucks is, that it is hard to come by. So I offer these tips.

-Go to as many schools as you can, and compare.
Dont enroll, and make more than one visit if necessary.

-The Real schools will not try to impress you, they will go about there buisiness as usual. Anyone throwing you a sales pitch is probably not lagit.

-Shaolin schools make up approximately 1% of kung fu schools in the U.S., and that is a generous estimate. The reason for this is back in the 70's when bruce influeced the US MA community, karate schools switched there signs to read Kung fu, and this has since evolved into people taking seminars on kung fu (limited info) and professing