PDA

View Full Version : Origins of Ed Parker's Kenpo

Cheese Dog
02-10-2003, 11:13 PM
Does anyone know the origins of Parker's Kenpo or what art or arts he studied before developing his own style? I have studied Ryukyu Kempo (traditional Okinawan kempo) for almost 10 years and have noticed quite a few simularities such as:

A hand oriented style, most kicks are low, alot of sweeps, trips, stomps, using the stance to trap or damage the opponents legs, a mixture of linear and circular hand techs, very self defense oriented.

Ryukyu Kempo does alot of trapping and standing grappling, don't know if Kenpo does this or not.

There are probably others but that's all I can think of now.

Anyway, if anyone has any info on this I would appreciate it.

Thanks,
Cheese Dog

dnc101
02-11-2003, 01:01 AM
CD, I am a student of American Kenpo. I'll try to answer your question, but there is no really good answer.

American Kenpo is the unique creation of Senior Grand Master Edmund Kealoha Parker. Mr Parker was noted for his ability to work with and learn from a multitude of other styles. He gleaned principles and concepts, but did not simply copy moves. What he created was his own style, the first truly American style.

He primarily studied Chuan fa, or Chinese Kenpo in Hawaii under Prof Chow. Some people will try to tell you that he studied with Mitose, a Japanese Kempo practitioner. There is some question as to whether Mitose studied with Prof. Chow, but there is no question that he had nothing to do with Mr. Parker. SGM Parker, in fact, called Mitose "a charlatan and a con man."