PDA

View Full Version : Teaching a style

Archangel
02-13-2003, 07:25 PM
By style I don't mean a particular art, I'm refering to a style of fighting. My old boxing coach told me once to stay away from anybody that tries to teach you their style of fighting. We all have different body types, different attributes and different instincts and it's only natural that we allow these factors to shape and mold our fighting style.

For instance when my brother and I started training in boxing, our coach noticed that I was slower more methodical but had heavy hands. My brother on the other hand was quick and mobile but didn't have KO power. So he trained us differently, he had me bulling in and landing heavy shots from the inside; my brother on the other hand was a counter puncher and used a lot of movement and evasiveness when he fought. He encouraged us to work on our weaknesses (my mobility, his power) but never once made us go against our natural fighting styles. I'm just wondering if this is prevelent in Kung Fu as well.

Kinjit
02-13-2003, 07:29 PM
Good topic. Some traditional japanese arts say that you should train for about 20 years before you start having your own style.:eek:

PHILBERT
02-13-2003, 07:40 PM
My instructor constantly tells me to use what I've got, my incredibly long arms (which are longer than some people 4-5 inches taller than me) and my good size legs. I'm only 6' to 6'1" and there is one guy in my class around 6'5" and my arms are the same length as his.

joedoe
02-13-2003, 07:42 PM
Once a student reaches a certain level of competency in our art, our sifu then focuses on different things for the student depending on their attributes, similar to your boxing coach.

count
02-13-2003, 08:12 PM