PDA

View Full Version : Need Stretching Techniques

neon
02-14-2003, 07:47 AM
Hello all. I've been a TKD student for a little over a year and a half at this fantastic and tiny little dojo being taught by a true grandmaster. It is incredible as to how much you can learn when surrounded by a small group of dedicated, friendly people.

While my technique has improved greatly and my reach gradually, my overall stretch is still incredibly weak, IMHO. Unfortunately for myself, I am one of those people that cannot sit down with his legs bent backwards at each side. I am nowhere near a full split.

I am hoping that some of you can point me to some more innovative or useful stretching methodologies. Some of the posts here use words that don't explain the techniques or point to the actual exercises and I was hoping to hear something more helpful, especially with regard to obtaining flexibility such as getting closer to a full split. Some people "promise" everyone can have one and I'm not so sure.

What do I do know? Stretching against a wall, both upright and sitting on the floor with legs at each side. I do not rocker my position, which I understand is bad technique. Additionally, I sit down with legs crossed and bottom of left foot against bottom of right foot, and lean forward, pushing my legs slightly aopart with my elbows and my head leaning forward to touch my feet and then attempting to reach the floor. There are some others.

Thanks and look forward to participating...

Mike

Robinf
02-14-2003, 09:00 AM
If anyone has any techniques for getting into a split, I'm all ears myself.

I'm still trying for one after 9 years. I get closer, but then I get stiff one night and I lose what I gained--even though I push it.

I did find that strength training with external weights has helped me a bit--that could also be because of the extra stretching that I do because of the workout.