PDA

View Full Version : two good Mpegs

carly
02-17-2003, 03:31 PM
Several really nice and unusual variations on the breakfall- http://www.systemauk.com/video/sor1.mpg
+
-Two nicely-done knife defenses - http://www.systemauk.com/video/kd1.mpg

Sho
02-17-2003, 03:56 PM
Should we make a separate thread for all the video clip postings? :rolleyes:

carly
02-17-2003, 03:57 PM
Do you enjoy them?

Losttrak
02-17-2003, 03:58 PM
I like the rolls... def very interesting. The knife defenses are technically sound. The thing is... can those moves be utilized in a situation that requires gross motor skills like in the heat of battle/fatigue? I wont go into the falls as I am no falling expert but the first knife disarm... There are many simpler maneuvers that would immobilize much quicker than reaching with the far hand.. up and AROUND the arm. The attackers natural instinct would be to either slice or draw back. Once he had the slightest bend to his arm... that move would take too much effort to perform. I dunno... I see the need to come up with multiple ways of doign things but I think they need to be simple and possible under physical duress to be effective.

carly
02-17-2003, 04:00 PM
I hear you.
But I think these guys know what they're doing in general - these clips were chosen as impressive-LOOKING, I think.
The Russian special forces stuff is pretty no-nonsense.

red5angel
02-17-2003, 04:04 PM
The break falls leave me feeling sort of weird, however I like the knife disarms, I think they could be used fairly easily if, like anything else, they are trained enough. The thing I like about them is that there isn't a lot of fooling around. Straight to the point.

Sho
02-17-2003, 04:07 PM
Originally posted by carly
Do you enjoy them?Sure. I just thought that it would be convenient to place all video clips on one thread, so that people could find them more easily - especially later on.

Surferdude
02-17-2003, 04:10 PM