PDA

View Full Version : Bamboo Dummy

marcoma
02-21-2003, 05:49 PM
A while back I read about a Bamboo Dummy used in Ithink it was a Vietnamese lineage of Wing Chun (known in Vietnam as 'Vinh Xuan')

Does anyone have experience of this dummy and is there any film available demonstrating its use.

Also is it a traditional training tool or is it something made up in more recent years.

Marco

KPM
02-24-2003, 04:11 PM
Hi Marco!

I was hoping someone would answer your question. :-) I have limited knowledge of the bamboo dummy, but I will share what I know. I believe at one point it was part of the YKSWCK lineage. A few years back I asked Zopa Gyatso about this and he sent me a picture of the thing. It is basically multiple lengths of bamboo mounted to a base as "arms". Technique is worked against the bamboo "arms" in a way similar to the wooden dummy. It may have also been used to work the knives, depending how how far apart the bamboo arms were placed. It didn't look like a very efficient training device to me. Now what I have found interesting is the long pole dummy used in the Chi Sim WCK family. It looks pretty useful!

Keith

byond1
02-24-2003, 05:17 PM
the chuk jong is found in the yuen chai wan and i believe yuen kay san systems......yiu kay (son of yiu choi, yuen chai wans only fatsn student that i jhave heard aobut) states there are 8 hand cycles and 4 kick practised on the chuk jong....some say that fok bo chun taught yuen cahi wan the chuk jong but students of ycw in vietnam and fok choi maintain this didnot come from fok bo chun but from yuen chai wan himself...he felt the muk yan jong was to ridged for good snake hand wing chun;)
\ b

reneritchie
02-25-2003, 07:32 AM
It came from Fok Bo-Chuen and was taught to both Yuen Kay-San and Yuen Chai-Wan. They knew several different types of dummies, not only wood and bamboo. Back in the old days, WCK was still very secret and the bamboo dummy was a way to work chi sao-like reflexes when a partner was not available.