PDA

View Full Version : Getting ready for tai-chi training

krazyklint1
03-01-2003, 05:58 PM
I am going to start training in Chen style tai chi in a couple months, and I was wondering what I could do to get ready for it? I've been training in Hung Fut for about 5 years, so I have a background in CMA, I'm just wondering what I can expect?:confused:

carly
03-01-2003, 06:05 PM
Practice relaxing and crouching in low stances so that your thighs burn with the effort. Or just start doing tai chi now.

Laughing Cow
03-01-2003, 06:09 PM
Start practicing entry level Zhang Zhuang, and do plenty of stretching.

Also have a look into Chan Si Jin(Silk reeling).

krazyklint1
03-01-2003, 06:10 PM
oops i guess i forgot to mention, i'm getting over a pretty serious knee injury, so i can't start training yet.

low stances i am used to..... relaxing? can you be a bit more specific? you mean like breathing excercises?

carly
03-01-2003, 06:13 PM
maybe pick up a chi kung book like the one by Mantak Chia on the Healing Tao so that you can begin to practice the microcosmic orbit, do a little reading on tai chi, watch some people who already practice it, do some yoga or stretching, that sort of thing.

Laughing Cow
03-01-2003, 06:21 PM
If you got knee problems I recommend:
1.) Zhang zhuang
2.) stretching in wide stances

You need to make sure that your knee does not go forward of your toes and that your knee is over the foot.

Going too low without widening your stance will hurt your knees.

I also had some knee probs and Chen TJQ got me sorted out in a few months.

Laughing Cow
03-01-2003, 06:51 PM
One more thing you might need to get used to.

Chen stances (atleast in my substyle) are supposed to be done as if you are sitting on a stool.

Your legs also need to form a circle, so don't let the rear-knee fall inward.

Here are some kicking exercises we do:

1.) Arms sideways from shoulder, right foot kicks upward, step, left kicks upward, step, etc.