PDA

View Full Version : reiki

davethedragon
03-05-2003, 05:31 AM
hello everyone
i have been doing reiki for a couple of years and have a 2nd degree.
i was wondering how many other people in this forum have any knowledge of the system and what their opinions on reiki are(either good or bad!)
do you think its healing properties pose a good balance against the destructive potential of the martial arts for example.

Former castleva
03-05-2003, 06:51 AM
I view martial arts as destructive forces to be balanced only when it comes down to Chinese school of dualism thought.

Reiki to me is like other schools of "laying hands" therapy,I´m a skeptic but it is interesting none the less.
My personal experiences/study ón reiki indicate some spiritual and political images that I´m not very fond of.

Welcome to the forum(s)´.

davethedragon
03-05-2003, 07:13 AM
thank you for prompt response and for my welcome!!

i agree with your point about dualism i first got interested in reiki because i thought to myself "well i am learning how to hurt people so the natural balance is to learn how to heal them"

Reiki in my experience is just another form of chi gung the only major difference being that it does not require the intent of mind that one has to develop with chi gung.

what part of the spiritual side of reiki are you not fond of??

i think it is like with most things it can be as spiritual or non spiritual as you want it to be.

whats finland like?!

Former castleva
03-05-2003, 07:31 AM
" thank you for prompt response and for my welcome!!

i agree with your point about dualism i first got interested in reiki because i thought to myself "well i am learning how to hurt people so the natural balance is to learn how to heal them"

You´re welcome. ;)
That is a good idea.What art are you learning? Reiki is not your average counterbalancer for MA it would seem to me,if you´re learning kf or related you might be introduced to acupressure,massage etc.