PDA

View Full Version : Martial arts and the law...

red5angel
03-06-2003, 08:08 AM
So I was thinking last night about some things and had an idea. I am not a lawyer and this idea isn't fool proof but lets see what you think anyway.

As martial artist we have to take special care in how we deal with attackers, in general, if we think the law will be involved at some point right? We know how to hurt or kill a person beter then most, in theory, so we are held at a higher level of responsibility, in general according to the law right?

But what about this...What if we look at it from another perspective. Lets say things aren't so cut and dry, it wasn't a bar fight situation where the guy was just picking on you, you threw a punch and did somehting you probably shouldn't have. Lets say someone breaks into your house. You have no idea who they are or what their intentions are right? You have an oppurtunity to ambush said invader and do so, hurting seriously or killing the person in the act.
Now you are sitting in court, and the prosecutor is saying that you had no right and should have known better, having the training that you have, should have been able to control the situation better.
Why can't you be considered an "expert" in this case? Lets say you have a few years behind you, maybe even a teaching certificate or something. Why is it that instead of looking at you as a person capable of determining what level of danger you are in the law wants to look at you as if you have a better chance of controlling the situation? I am not saying we don't as martial artsist but we all know that in a fight nothing is 100%. You don't know what the guy is about, you didn't know if he had a gun or a knife, but you did know he was heading for your childrens room, it was 2 am and he shouldn't have been there.

What I am getting at is, couldn't the law view us potentially as experts in the field of self defense and reasonable force?

KC Elbows
03-06-2003, 08:29 AM