PDA

View Full Version : Is it the person or the style?

Dragon23
03-20-2003, 11:47 AM
Hello everyone,

I am new to Kung fu magazune.com and this is my first time to post. I found Kung Fu Magazine.com while researching the infamous Shaolin-do school. At the time I did not know that there was so much criticism for the school, but as I read through old forums that is all I seemed to find. I want to study a Chinese martial arts but my choices are quite limited due to location. Is the Saolin-do school so bad that I should avoid it or is it the person and not the style that makes a good martial artists. I have heard that the Shaolin-do school is similiar to Kenpo kararte would I be better off just studying Kenpo. The other option I have is a Wing Tsun school but it is in an inconvenient location. This seemed like a good place to get some thoughts and info. on the subject. If anybody knows of any good Chinese martial arts schools in San Marcos/San Antonio, Tx area please let me know. If this is a subject that has been beaten to death I am sorry but I am just trying to get as much info. as possible before I make a decision.

Thanks

old jong
03-20-2003, 01:26 PM
Hello!
Some will answer it is the style and some will tell you it is the person! but first ,you need a real style for that person and shaolin do is certainly not "real"...
I found two schools in your area...
San Antonio

* Realistic Self-Defense "Wing Chun Concepts"
826 SW 38th St., San Antonio, TX 78237
Tel: (210) 434-8521
Notes: System very well taught out to develop person's sensitivity to touch, speed of reaction, and economy of motion ... designed for women, men and preteens. Your action determines my reaction.
* San Antonio Wing Tsun Academy
1308 Austin Hwy, San Antonio, TX 78209
Tel: (210) 822-0035
Notes: William Parker is a 2nd Level Technician under the AWTO and is a direct student of Grandmaster Leung Ting and a private student of Sifu Emin Boztepe. Call for class schedule