PDA

View Full Version : Sifus, When are they of age?

Shaolindynasty
06-03-2001, 11:51 PM
I'll start by telling you guys my story and why this interests me. I am a young Sifu (19yrs old) and find people don't take me seriously. I have been an instructor for the past year under my Sifu but now am trying to start my own classes. I find that alot of martial artists don't take me seriously or believe I am for real until I demonstrate my abilities. I have been training in Shaolin kungfu for 5 yrs and I can understand that people think this is a short time but it was full time(if you think about it it is the eqivalent of collage with hands on exerience) and also have taken chinese medicine and acupressure classes. People seem to be more comfortable with a Tang Soo Do sensei (we have 3 in town) that is between 30 and 40 years old and with 25-30 yrs of experince even though they are bad martial artists. Anyways what do you guys think is a reasonable age and time of experience for a Sifu to start teaching on his own?

Witness the Dynasty!!!
www.shaolindynasty.itgo.com (http://www.shaolindynasty.itgo.com)

joedoe
06-04-2001, 07:52 AM
Totally off topic, but I think the term sifu tends to generate some confusion. To some people, it merely means an instructor or teacher, while to others it means someone who has mastered the art they are teaching.

I can accept someone being an instructor in 5 years, but IMHO there are very few people who could truly master an art in 5 years.

It is hard to get credibility as a young teacher of the martial arts simply because people have a preconceived notion of what a martial arts teacher should be like. They should be experienced and wise etc. on top of being proficient in their art. Maybe it is hard for people to accept that you have the experience and wisdom to truly hold the title of sifu.

cxxx[]:::::::::::>
What we do in life echoes in Eternity

The Willow Sword
06-04-2001, 09:09 AM