PDA

View Full Version : Pressure in Rolling/Poon Sau

headstock
03-24-2003, 08:08 PM
hi,
This is my first post here on the forums. I've been doing wing chun for about 7 months and really enjoying it so far. As a relative new-comer to chi sau i'm uncertain of a few things. One thing i notice with different people is the pressure used when rolling. I try and keep contact with minimal pressure, to stay light and relaxed. Among other people ive felt different degrees of force. I asked a fellow student who said something like "you need to keep that pressure to come forward through a gap" this made sense but then i thought that it should be possible to feel the gap and come forward with fa jing energy from a relaxed state. We drilled this in class once i think, it starts with forarm to forarm then one partner drops his arm and the other partners hand comes forward quickly, it is important that the partners arent pushing each other to start. Anyway, even if i dont get a straight answer id be interested to read other opinions. Foolinthedeck, i know you're light in contact and agree with me ;)

Owen

S.Teebas
03-25-2003, 04:51 AM
headstock says:

I asked a fellow student who said something like "you need to keep that pressure to come forward through a gap" this made sense but then i thought that it should be possible to feel the gap and come forward with fa jing energy from a relaxed state.

Pressure in chi sau should be increased over time. The beginning stages should be light. This is because you need to make sure what doing is correct. (ie your structure, direction of force, listening to the energy of the opponent etc..)

So make sure your doing it right before your push your limits.