PDA

View Full Version : numb fingers?

Ming Yue
03-25-2003, 07:21 PM
For the past few days the index finger and thumb of my right hand have been randomly going kind of numb... tingly. Just for a moment, then it goes. no pain, just numbness.

It happened a couple times when I've been training, it's happened at work typing, and reading...

I mentioned the numbness to my boss, and he said it sounded like the beginnings of carpal tunnel. I'm a graphic designer and I've used the computer for my work for a long time.

I understand that Carpal tunnel is an inflammation of the nerve sheath that runs into the hand. Can anyone recommend excercises to keep this in check?

Thanks!

Serpent
03-25-2003, 07:49 PM
Exercise and stretch your hands repeatedly during the work day, taking regular breaks from the PC to do so. Massage also helps a great deal.

Get another job?

ZIM
03-25-2003, 07:53 PM
Mouse fingers? Get a trackball, wrist support. and what serpent said.

Laughing Cow
03-25-2003, 07:55 PM
Get a mouse that fits your hand correctly.

Wrist support, etc.

Guile
03-26-2003, 08:40 AM
Those gel pads are great for wrists. Pick one up at Best Buy or something like that.

Ming Yue
03-26-2003, 09:37 AM
thanks guys.

I got a gel mousepad thingie, pretty comfortable actually.

Former castleva
03-27-2003, 11:15 AM
If you seem to develop carpal tunnel syndrome,see your neurologist.

nospam
03-27-2003, 10:04 PM
...sounds like minor compression of the median nerve.

I'd suggest conducting research on ergonomics so you can assess your worksite for proper body and workspace positioning.

You want to strive for a neutral arm/wrist position. Using the mouse is horrible for extending the shoulder for most office workers. Constant shoulder extension could result in the tingling sensation (neuropathy) of the forearm/fingers.