PDA

View Full Version : Pankration

Former castleva
03-31-2003, 11:01 AM
Any experiences or comments on this art?

LEGEND
03-31-2003, 11:36 AM
No experience but I've seen it make a big SPLASH during the UFC days. It's basically MMA training. But the guy...JIM AVERETT( ??? ) says that pankration has been around for years and bring up photos of past gladiator statue fighting etc...
Looks to be a mixture of submission techs, greco, freestyle, boxing, and muy thai. I think it's a great marketing tool though. You know with the gladiator/roman/greek time. Hell I could promote VIETCONG martial arts and make it seem like ninjitsu.

apoweyn
03-31-2003, 11:37 AM
Arvanitis, or something. Jim Arvanitis.

Mr.Sleazy
03-31-2003, 11:50 AM
Castleva:

I am no expert, but I've been training this for about a year now.

I don't think there is any one single system of pankration, it varies from school to school. Some of the schools claim connection to the ancient greek pankrationists (Arvantis I think) while others (eg Matt Hume) are frank that its a modern mixed martial art evolved from mixing muay thai, bjj, boxing, karate (among others).

Basically, pankration is really a competition venue rather than a single monolithic "art" with a set series of techniques:

http://mmac.homestead.com/whatispankration.html

http://www.pitch.com/issues/2002-04-18/feature.html/1/index.html

I can't speak for other schools, but at mine, the emphasis is on sport, training generally has some pretty hard sparring, no forms or katas, and puts an equal emphasis on groundfighting and standup.

Black Jack
03-31-2003, 12:24 PM
I remeber reading articles where Arvantis states that his Pankration system is a retrofit style of boxing, grappling systems like greco roman wrestling, and kick boxing disciplines.

The only person I have ever heard state that they have a connection to the ancient greeks was that bald guy who does those bizzare Comrach Bas tapes?

A greek system with a galiec name :rolleyes: