PDA

View Full Version : Cho family wing chun

dezhen2001
04-03-2003, 04:56 PM
sorry i have nothing constructive to add to any other threads, im just a newbie :)

i had just never seen Cho family wing chun before i saw this article by wong kiew kit on dragonlist

http://www.dragonslist.com/kwoon/index.php?id=63

looks really interesting to compare it to the yip man wing chun i practise badly :)

does anyone know of any more good links on it?

dawood

PaulH
04-03-2003, 05:47 PM
Hi There,

I found this link for you. There are many interesting posts on this sites. Enjoy your time her.

http://shaolin-wahnam.tripod.com/

Regards,

Sandman2[Wing Chun]
04-03-2003, 05:53 PM
Out of curiosity, how much does the Cho family WCK that you practice look like the pictures on that site?

Phenix
04-03-2003, 06:57 PM
Originally posted by Sandman2[Wing Chun]
Out of curiosity, how much does the Cho family WCK that you practice look like the pictures on that site?

Hi Sandman,

No easy answer.

There is a different between Cho family WCK and Yik Kam's WCK.

Cho family wck has different Nam Kuen component involved which even include CLF. This was introduced at Cho Dak Seng Time. In Cho family we even have a set name as CLF. Some people in the family even change the salutation of WCK with CLF component.
some even asked me if there exist two sets of SLT.....
So, that is a part of evolution of Cho family.

However,
Yik Kam SLT is passed to Cho Soon by Yik Kam at red junk time. and that is the core or seed of Cho family WCK.
Cho Soon is the father of Cho Dak Seng. Who is the student of Yik Kam and both of them are actors.

(please read my article on Www.wingchunkuen.com for the more details...)

Thus, if you noticed. I use the term Yik Kam SLT when there is related to White Crane and Emei 12 zhuang.

That is to differentiate....
I prefer to strickly go by book (kuen kuit) on what is passed down by Yik Kam instead of go by legend.