PDA

View Full Version : Shaolin belts?

inpho
06-25-2001, 02:27 AM
I was wondering if Shaolin used any type of belt system. In movies and books I've seen Shaolin students wearing different colour uniforms and belts, I assumed they didn't use belts so perhaps these colours indicate secular deciples or something?

Furious Tiger
06-25-2001, 03:07 AM
I am new to both Kung Fu and this forum, though I have posted before. I do not think that there si a system in place in Shao lIn Kung Fu or Kung Fu in General. This seemd to be and american need to have one self evaluate and conciously see their own progression in the system. Again I am new to Kung Fu and could be totally off base. I believe traditionaly the Sifu monotors the progress of each of his students and then determins whether or not the student is ready to move on to the next level. ;)

Furious Tiger

Shaolindynasty
06-25-2001, 03:29 PM
I think in the temple the orange robes are for people who are full monks and grey is for secular disciples. I also think this isn't strongly inforced either. I guess color now can be a matter of preference.

Witness the Dynasty!!!
New Site! www.shaolindynasty.cjb.net (http://www.shaolindynasty.cjb.net)

inpho
06-26-2001, 02:49 AM
But the pictures of teh secular desciples show them wearing both, only their belts remain the same colour. Also I'm 99% certain the US Shaolin schools use belts.

Chi Hu
06-26-2001, 02:52 AM
I believe traditionally belts were not used in Shaolin kung fu, for time in the art is much more important than so called rank.

"Betray the art, and it will betray you"
Grand master Simon

Sil Lum Palm
06-26-2001, 04:27 AM