PDA

View Full Version : question on angle of hips

wild child
04-10-2003, 02:32 PM
Hi there,

As a newbie to tai chi, I have heard of two different opinions to this. Hopefully someone will be knid enough to point me in the right direction.

I am studying Yang - if that helps.

In a position, for example, Ward off, should your hips be aligned straight forward or should they be at a 45 degree angle?

Hopefully thats clear. When in a leading stance base, to allow maximum stregnth in the base, which is the best angle or correct angle to have your hips.

thanks in advance to those who answer

wild chil

Water Dragon
04-10-2003, 02:53 PM
Think of your whole pelvis, not just your hips. Your pelvis is a straight line that forms the base of a triangle. So you have a line coming from your left hip bone and a line going from your right hip bone. Where those two imaginary lines meet is where the power will go.

Does that make sense?

Vapour
04-10-2003, 03:56 PM
Question. Is it short Yang form or proper Yang form you are learning. If you are learining short Yang, it can be considered as a separate style known as Chen Mang Ching style. In CMC style, your hip must face forward.

Shooter
04-10-2003, 04:01 PM
In a position, for example, Ward off, should your hips be aligned straight forward or should they be at a 45 degree angle?

Depends on what you're doing with your ward-off at the time. The hips can be 45 or square to the line of intention at the point of issuing in your push-hands, shuai-chiao, and san-shou.

The form is just one big, silk-reeling transition though, so the posture is hidden in the movement. The standing posture is practiced with the hips square, elbow over knee, knee over toes.

Water Dragon
04-10-2003, 05:21 PM
Originally posted by Shooter

Depends on what you're doing with your ward-off at the time. The hips can be 45 or square to the line of intention at the point of issuing in your push-hands, shuai-chiao, and san-shou.