PDA

View Full Version : What styles should I study

VactsRachet
04-12-2003, 12:19 AM
I am a newbie to this site but I am not a newbie to fighting. In my life I have been in rather a few fights, most of the time on the receiving end. During my younger years I studies Karate until i reached yellow belt black tip...this study didnt help that much other than teach me how to kick and punch straight.

Lately i have started training myself with kickboxing, against a punching bag, I know this is a bad idea because it lowers your defensive in fighting

The other day I went against somebody taller and bigger than me, and whenever i threw a punch i ended up with one in the face, he got 3 in total on me until i took him to the ground where it was discovered thats where his weakness was.

I was just wondering what styles would be good with somebody that has had the training background like i have, also i need some useful strategies for beating opponents before i get into the style of my chosen art, so give me some feedback please

StarBoy
04-12-2003, 05:31 AM
Just curious, how do you end up getting into so many fights? I live in a pretty rough area (shootings/stabbings are relatively common), and I've still managed to avoid fights pretty well since the 7th grade.

PHILBERT
04-12-2003, 10:41 AM
Well for grappling (taking to the ground) you'd want like Vale Tudo, Judo or Brazilian JuJutsu (the last one being one of the most common and detailed grappling arts). The only downer about BJJ and other grappling arts is some schools don't teach how to handle 2 or more opponents at a single time so if that guy has a buddy you better finish him off fast.