PDA

View Full Version : Creating a Dummy

Grinding Hands
04-15-2003, 03:33 PM
I had a dream I found a Dummy in the alley. Some idiot threw it away like old 8-tracks I was so happy. Me and my friend picked it up and headed home. We were 30 feet from my house and I woke up.

Anyways, I built a couple here and there. But I have never made an all wooden dummy.
I made a pvc one. It sucks. I gave it a faux finish. It still sucks.

I was walking through an alley with my dog one day and found a dummy. Sike! Actually it was siamese tree trunks. One was too curved but the other brother was just right.

They have been dead for maybe a year and a half. Can they still be used?

Can someone tell me the exact way to chissel out the holes. No one seems to describe this procedure.

What tools will I need?

Are there any special things i should know to keep the chiseling in a straight path?

I have been restoring furniture for two years. I have made arms and legs before.

I have some buddies that might be able to dry up the log for me.

Im gonna start this pretty soon so any help you guys can give me would be great!

Hopefully if you guys want I can give you weekly progress reports with pictures.

Please dont refer me to any book. That would suck.

Im not asking for your family's "dimensions" just how to make the holes.

I have to make a real dummy atleast once.

Thanks

Joey

Stevo
04-15-2003, 09:03 PM
Hi Joey,

Although I've only made a PVC dummy too, I've also got a log ready to make into a dummy and have put a fair bit of thought into how to go about cutting the holes and have come up with 2 possible ways: