PDA

View Full Version : WCKF for "big" guys

anneemu4
04-20-2003, 10:14 PM
Ok so I've been practicing WC for about 7 months now and I really love it. I think that it's hilarious that I actually fell in love with this martial art. I'm having a ball working SLT and I'm just starting Chi dan sau and poon-sau.

But I have a small (maybe large) problem. My belly. My gans normally end up as guats because my elbows get stopped at my mid-section.

So the question I'm wanting to know is, does the ammount of weight disrupt my structure? I'm sure that it would somehow become burdensome when I'm actually in the posistion to have to fight. Sometimes I feel like I lose my core in my mass.This is especially so when I'm touching hands with someone---for some reason my punches just don't seem to be coming out right.

The obvious answer would be for me to lose weight, but in the mean time, does an overweight WCKF practicioner have to modify his/her structure at all and if so, does WCKF leave room for those modifications to make sure that it is still good Kung Fu?

Thanks
Matthew

John Weiland
04-20-2003, 10:28 PM
Originally posted by anneemu4

The obvious answer would be for me to lose weight, but in the mean time, does an overweight WCKF practicioner have to modify his/her structure at all and if so, does WCKF leave room for those modifications to make sure that it is still good Kung Fu?

Yep. Your belly can get in the way. My sigung Ken Chung has mentioned it to my seniormost siheng and also my portly sisook that their pot-bellies get in the way. But, neither was so overweight when they began 30 and 20 years ago.

I suggest you try to lose the gut, but you can get good anyway if you work at it.

BTW, I am no skinny guy myself, so I do understand how hard it is to curb the weight.

So no, don't modify your structure, but be aware of how near you are to your partner.

Regards,

Train
04-21-2003, 12:28 AM
Hi Matthew,