PDA

View Full Version : plum blossom sword form

draggin dragon
04-23-2003, 01:53 AM
Although I have studied a few different martial arts, I am relatively new to the study of kungfu & tai-chi.
I have been studying the 24 tai -chi form for a few months. I have been briefly introduced to some preliminary exercise drills, some staff work & a little iron-wire intro as well during the same time period. My instructor teaches choy-li-fut & hung-gar.
This past week he introduced me to the plum blossom sword form. I was immediately intrigued by this form. It has piqued my interest like nothing I have experienced to date in my exposure to the martial arts.
Can anyone direct me to a resource (book, video tape, internet resource) that can provide me with further information on this form. I am especially looking for something that illustates the form step-by-step.
Thank you.

GARRA DE TIGRE
04-23-2003, 09:13 AM
there is a videotape of gm tat mau wong ( choy lay fut ) performing muy fah darn gim ( plum blossom sword form ) in his panther series .

good luck

Fu-Pow
04-23-2003, 10:07 AM
That form is also called Fu Mei Dahn Do or Tiger Tail Single Sword

monk weed
04-23-2003, 11:11 AM
draggin dragon

The forms you buy on tape that are avalible out there differ from branch to branch so tat wongs plum blossom form may be different from the one you are learning. many branches have the "plum blossom" name in their forms and are not necessarily the same one. like fu pow said tat wongs plum blossom sword is also called fu mei dahn do.

yutyeesam
04-23-2003, 01:13 PM
Really, Fu-Pow?
I thought Fu mei dahn do was the Tiger's Tail Broadsword form.
I thought our straightsword form was simply called Mui Fah Gim...but there could be another name that I wasn't aware of.

At any rate, I don't know how easy it is to locate Tat Mau Wong's Panther Production video of this, b/c it isn't on Panther's website.
But it is here:

http://members.aol.com/kctaekwondo/vidh2.html

Just look for this title: