PDA

View Full Version : what's are the technical differences between WC styles?

omarthefish
04-24-2003, 12:21 AM
Could somebody please fill me in on some of the techichal differences between the various factions within the WC community. I have trained with people from the Cheung lineage and with some of Chris Chan's students (just playing mostly) and I notice a few things in how they feel but am pretty ignorant of just exactly how they are different.

I'm all ears...

Grabula
04-24-2003, 09:57 AM
I think the differences are small, but like waves those small differences can make a big impact.

The key sometimes is how is steering the ship, not what kind of ship it is.

yuanfen
04-24-2003, 10:06 AM
Omar is fishing in trolling waters.:-

Grendel
04-24-2003, 01:34 PM
Originally posted by omarthefish
Could somebody please fill me in
Are you related to Omar the Tentmaker?

omarthefish
04-24-2003, 09:51 PM
Look, I'm not a newbie in Wing Chun looking to research it on the web. I've had plenty of first hand exposure and nearly a decade of southern Shaolin. I know the terminology except I'm not to clear on what's meant by the "central" line. Maybe if I could just tell you guys the differences I've noticed between schools.

School A:

Definate pigeon toed stance.
Very aggressive
Very pronounced inward tuck on the fuk sau.
Training focuses more on numerous repitions of Siu Lum Tao done at slow speed with continual tension in the forearms.
Many of the most powerull punchers I've ever met come from this school.
Tremendous emphasis on dynamic tension traaining and basic exercises for developing 'gong-fu' in the movements.

School B:
More natural stance.
Very conservative
more relaved fuk sau
Traing focuses on numerous repitions of simple applications taken out of the various forms.
Stronger emphasis on taking the blind side and pivoting back away from attacks.
More emphasis on footwork and roll punches.