PDA

View Full Version : going to a xingyi school tomorrow

chen zhen
04-27-2003, 01:17 PM
What should I be looking out for? what things will show that it is a good school, and what will show that it is bad? It's my first time at a xingyi-place, so i would like some tips.

iron thread
04-27-2003, 07:55 PM
It is good to see a standing posture called San Ti. It is a very important part of hsing-i and a hsing-i class shouldn't be without at least a little San Ti.

CrippledAvenger
04-28-2003, 07:08 AM
Any other advice for prospective Xing Yi students? I'm thinking of checking out a place here later this week.

Ray Pina
04-28-2003, 07:47 AM
Don't worry about San Ti -- they may be working on something else.

But notice if:

They stomp the floor: This is a poor understanding. Why stomp the floor? The floor is not attacking you, and you actually put your force down instead of out into the other. The power should be pushed off the back leg and driving ... like pushing a car. You don't stomp your feet to push your car ... all you will do is hurt your heel.

Shape: See if they maintain a strong shape close to their body ... no outstreched arms.

Listen to their speach: Hsing-I is about power, how to generate it from proper body mechanics. If they start talking about Water to beat metal and Fire to beat wood and this and that ... wrong understanding! Each element is an idea in power generation. The better man will defeat the other no matter what element he uses because they are actually all built into everything. The idea! The principle!

Basically: They should look like they can mess up some ****. Hsing-I is for beating somebody ... there is no BS dancing around.

You'll no its the real deal right away, because you'll be like :eek:

CrippledAvenger
04-28-2003, 10:59 AM
Thanks for the info, EvolutionFist. I've heard nothing but good things about the art and the teacher, so I'm crossing my fingers.

Any other opinons on the matter?

blacktaoist
04-29-2003, 08:40 AM