PDA

View Full Version : Flanking Q

reneritchie
04-30-2003, 10:22 AM
This is mainly for Pien San, TWC, etc. people who prefer taking the flank. When/if you spar (against skilled opponents), how often are you successfully able to take the flank?

I've had some strange experiences lately with this, especially with un-trained (brawler) types and wrestlers, because they do a lot of things trained fighters wouldn't do, especially hold their arms in strange, wide-open manners that make it pretty easy to just pound down the center, but more difficult (IMHO) to flank them. Wrestlers especially were also good at keeping front facing alignment, I guess because of the needs of their sport.

Grabula
04-30-2003, 10:35 AM
reneritchie, what is your point for asking? Don't take that wrong, what I mean is, if it's easy to take them down the middle would you bother flanking them?
Anyway, don't take me the wrong way, just asking from curiosity is all.

yuanfen
04-30-2003, 10:37 AM
Rene- a non side body or TWC wing chun person shouldnt allow a person to flank them either.

Similarly, coordinated wc body control is properly understood
one can outflank many wrestlers. Wrestlers can outflank other wrestlers- they do it often by controlling the hands and getting around.

reneritchie
04-30-2003, 10:59 AM
Grabula,

In real application, I would take whatever's given to me, of course, but pure "mind candy" makes me want to try things in sparring environments, to get a sense of what I can do. Since Pien San and TWC prefer the side, I assume they work very hard at getting it, even against opponents who are harder to get it from. In a perfect world, I could take front, side, or back whenever I want 8)

Joy,

Yeah, that wasn't really what I was asking about. Sorry I didn't phrase it better.