PDA

View Full Version : Fighting by numbers

ryuujin
05-02-2003, 02:04 PM
The concept of putting down all your forms and using physics to dictate your moves. Who else here thinks that a martial arts should be treated that way?

norther practitioner
05-02-2003, 02:08 PM
Um, how bout if your forms actually help you with your physics.

ryuujin
05-02-2003, 02:11 PM
It has trying to figure out the apex of centrifugal force of a palm strike using physics it has improved my math skills lol

norther practitioner
05-02-2003, 02:16 PM
Centrifugal force is fictional, only there in theory.......

figuring out how much centripital force... then applying that to a release, should just come from good technique.

ryuujin
05-02-2003, 02:27 PM
ummm centrafugal force isnt a theory its the underlining concept behind the machine centrafuge which spins to seperate using gravitation force. thats what im studying its not just the techique at which angle and spin i should release its more to than just doing a technique right im doing the math behind the technique

Budokan
05-03-2003, 09:24 AM
Sorry. Centrifugal force doesn't exist. Period. It doesn't even exist in a centrifuge. I know. Hardly seems fair, does it? But that's the way physics goes...

Anyway, to answer the question: NO. Anytime you start limiting your martial arts to a series and static sequence of moves you limit the fluid mobility that should be inherent within your martial art-- a fluid mobility that is there to adapt to any situation you might find yourself in. Assuming you're taking something other than tae bo, that is.

tsunami surfer
05-03-2003, 09:55 PM