PDA

View Full Version : Really, how dangerous are knives?

rogue
05-06-2003, 09:04 PM
OK **** dangerous.

But, unless the guy is working a 12 inch blade how many of the fancy knife moves are immediatly fatal?

joedoe
05-06-2003, 09:09 PM
I am no expert on knives, but I remember a case here of a woman who was sick of being beaten by her husband so she stabbed him with a fruit knife. The knife was only 2 or 3 inches long, but she happened to stab him precisely between the ribs at the right place to pierce his heart.

Seems to me that even a short blade can deliver a fatal blow.

sticky fingers
05-06-2003, 09:43 PM
I've never been in a knife fight (thank God) but 1 thing I've learnt in training is never,ever underestimate a knife wielder no matter how puny the blade seems.

A blade the width of your hand is long enough to puncture your heart. Less to slice open an artery and bleed to death...

The ppl who say to treat a knife as an extension of the hand are living in fantasy land. A lot of supposed knife disarming techniques taught in various schools are simply suicidal - you know the ones where the knife attacker makes a lunge from 10 feet away yelling KIIAA! - just doesn't happen in real life.

Just do this as en experiment - get a friend to attack you with a marker pen (wear eye protection when you do this). A friend untrained in martial arts is better. Then compare the marks you get with an anatomy book and see if any of the marks would have cut a major blood vessel.

shaolin kungfu
05-06-2003, 09:50 PM
Just do this as en experiment - get a friend to attack you with a marker pen (wear eye protection when you do this). A friend untrained in martial arts is better. Then compare the marks you get with an anatomy book and see if any of the marks would have cut a major blood vessel.

Thats a good idea. I'll have to try it some time.

Laughing Cow
05-06-2003, 09:59 PM
Originally posted by sticky fingers

While not a bad training method, it has one major drawback.