PDA

View Full Version : Opinion on forum discussions

Arb
05-16-2003, 03:18 PM
I've been a member of this forum for a while now, but never posted before. I have lurked and read many of the post. I'm a novice wing chun practioner. Since I'm definitely not as experience as other forum members appeared to be, I was hoping to find some useful discussion on wing chun, and kungfu generally.

Thus far, I have been very disappointed. Although there have been some useful post, its few and far between. I've found the majority of the discussion to be petty, disrespectful of others point of view, and some just down right ignorant. Rather than focusing on open discussion of wing chun techniques, beliefs and way of life, there’s a lot of bad mouthing and bashing of individuals and lineages. Frankly, I expected kungfu practioners to display more tolerance and openness to others point of view.

Also, how do some you guys find time to train?! I have a full-time job…40 hrs/week, sometimes more. I go to kungfu class at least 3 times a week sometimes more. I have more Internet access at work than most. But I could never keep up all the posts the way some of you do!! Especially given the length of some of the threads!!

That said, please don’t take any more time from kungfu training to respond criticizing my point of view, or to correct my grammar, or to challenge me to a fight. I mean no disrespect to any of you esteem kungfu practioners. I apologize in advance if I’ve offended anyone. This post should not in any way be interpreted to be directed at any particular group or individual. The ONLY purpose of this post is to respectfully request that future discussions display more respect, dignity, tolerance and openness to others point of view, techniques, style and lineage.

azwingchun
05-16-2003, 03:45 PM