PDA

View Full Version : How do you get out of an armlock?

chen zhen
05-17-2003, 02:13 AM
I tryed out grappling for the first time last week at a JKD school, and I was introduced to the upa drill, and then I had a freestyle wrestling match with the schools assistant instructor. I did pretty well, considering I'm a newbie at this fighting range, I had the guy in a leglock at one time (which he got out of).
Then at last he got me in an armlock (the one where his legs are on both sides of your arm and placed on your chest), and I had to tap out.
Then I wondered: what am I supposed to do in this situation? what's the standard counter technique to an armlock? And don't mention the dirty tricks, like biting the leg or something like that, I had figured them out already while I was lying there.:)

Mr Punch
05-17-2003, 02:24 AM
Originally posted by chen zhen
Then at last he got me in an armlock (the one where his legs are on both sides of your arm and placed on your chest), and I had to tap out.
Then I wondered: what am I supposed to do in this situation? what's the standard counter technique to an armlock? I believe the standard response would be to struggle like a hooked fish before hearing a sick snap, and feeling an intense agony as your elbow bends the way it shouldn't...

I think the problem is you've allowed it to go to far. You should try and counter it before it gets to this point...

at which point in the discussion you have to say how he got to this point... and talk to someone who something about what they're talking about...

which completely lets me off!:D

Bye!

chen zhen
05-17-2003, 02:38 AM
I see your point.. I just have to know when it's coming, and how to stop it at the right time. And that, takes a lot of hard training to reach that point:) remember, it was my first time.