PDA

View Full Version : WC Fighters in training?

InjuryProne
05-23-2003, 11:36 AM
Hi everyone!

Great board. I cannot believe the quality of posters here!

Just to introduce myself, i am a wing chun fanatic . Althoguh i have limited experience studying in TWC, i absolutely loved the style and instructors that i met in my brief stint with it. Although i currently study brazilian jiu jitsu, i hold no delusions that it is the ultimate style of anything ridiculous like that. I do bjj because of the "fun" aspect of it.

And now to my request / question ...

One thing that bothers me though is that the general public has NO idea how effective wing chun can be. And although i believe otherwise, it bothers the heck out me to see the general consensus amongst non -wing chun practioners that other arts are more effective (specifically muy thai, bjj, wrestling, etc) because they have been proven in the ring. Wing chun gets a bad rap even though i know for a fact that there were students at my old wing chun school that i would bet on against teachers of other schools in the area that teaches supposed "effective" styles.

However, it bothers me to a great extent, that logically speaking, there is no way to refute the claim! In this day and age, people want proof for there own eyes and all they have are the few videos available of wing chun losign fights! This is bad for WC! and bad for chinese arts in general.

Others have noted on the WC Fighters thread that if a wing chun practcioner trains the same way as a pro boxer, they will be just as effective. I believe this!!!