PDA

View Full Version : reality for wing chunners these days

flaco
05-26-2003, 06:37 PM
i feel(my personal opinion)is that all wc or wt guys need to at least grapple for a few years, and if your attitude is that you don't need to, that your so good with wc, then fine. but my reality is, that in order to defend against something, you ought to know how it's done. just as great wt or wc organizations all wised up, and learned kali for its weapons and knife stuff, many smart wt owc guys are learning grappling.

many guys on the street today, do bjj or sombo, or whatever. where it was ***gy to go to a gung fu class, and wear a uniform in the past, the neighborhood tough guys have no problem putting on a gi, to learn how to choke and break things. i grappled for 4 years, and im glad i did. im no pro, or no great fighter, im average, so dont get offended by my post, it is my reality. maybe you disagree, thats ok.

i feel that if you at least attain a high blue belt in bjj, that you have a good grip on the strategy, and weaknesses and strengths of the art. you dont need to do this with every art, but in honesty, mostb people who fight, are training in mt and bjj these days.so in order for your wc to go beyond theory, i recommend you trying bjj or sombo for a year or two.only if you are into real fighting. for all the wc guys training for self defense or hobby,etc, it fine to just train wc.

again, i know some people only need wt or wc, and they can handle most, so i exclude those exceptional people, anyone else, i want no negative threads, im not here to argue, either you agree,or don't, but lets be mature about it.

AndrewS
05-26-2003, 07:20 PM
No argument.

Grappling is much fun, and your ability to deal with anything increases with your familiarity with it.

Later,

Andrew

Edmund
05-26-2003, 07:55 PM
An everyday person may get no exposure to any martial arts at all. For them to find something in an art like WC is a good thing.