Mr Punch
06-02-2003, 02:42 AM
What are the differences in falling between

aiki

judo

JJ

shui chao (sp)?

How do you train them?
Comparisons to aiki would be useful for me as I've been training that for about 13 years. I'll put more into this thread later in the week when I have time.
When I say JJ, I mean BJJ or JJJ, and in those cases I'm especially interested in how you train falling, as a lot of the takedowns seem to be based on disrupting someone's structure so they CAN'T fall correctly.
I suppose the same is true of shui chao.

Cheers.

chen zhen
06-02-2003, 03:56 AM
I think Aikido's ukemi is more like "trying to jump over a chair with your head first"-style, if you know what I mean. and judo and JJJ ukemi is similar to each other, as they are also based on trying to break a fall after being throwed. BJJ-ukemi is more like wrestling, I guess.. and I don't know anything about wrestling-falling techniques.
is there an expert in the house..

Former castleva
06-03-2003, 02:15 PM
Aikido ukemi is intended to be circular,like the art generally is.
Smooth,and you are not supposed to slam the ground but gradually cut off the "corners".
Personally I do view this as some of the safest ways to fall (breakfalls are practiced)
IŽd feel jujutsu ukemi (or some related arts) may not necessarily differ crucially from that of aikido.
Judo ukemi to me is more "blunt".Of course body contact and throwing is often quite different as well.

JusticeZero
06-04-2003, 01:08 PM
Wouldn't know any of those. I just know that we focus on a lot of 'twist into a cartwheel' falling.

Mr Punch
06-20-2003, 10:44 PM
Originally posted by chen zhen
I think Aikido's ukemi is more like "trying to jump over a chair with your head first"-style, if you know what I mean... Well, I always looked at aiki ukemi as trying to jump out of an elbow lock before it develops a permanent and unnatural bend myself but...