PDA

View Full Version : Why do advanced students quit training?

Judge Pen
06-05-2003, 06:05 AM
I actually stopped training for about 5 years after reaching black sash; however, I thought I had good reasons at the time. When I started training again, I realized that it was a huge mistake and I regretted the time that I lost. Do you all have any thoughts as to why some students suddenly stop after they start to reach a certain level of proficiency?

Robinf
06-05-2003, 06:19 AM
Boredom.

Ego.

MasterKiller
06-05-2003, 06:33 AM
One of the senior students that trains with me has been missing a lot of class lately because he is bored, which comes from a lack of motivation to learn new things, so he feels like he has nothing to practice.

However, I tell him that even if he doesn't want to learn new weapons or forms, we all still have to improve the stuff we already know. He should be practicing his core sets and techniques. But he's got no interest in improving things he already knows pretty well.

Dark Knight
06-05-2003, 06:35 AM
Chicks, they kill everything

apoweyn
06-05-2003, 06:38 AM
I think a lot of schools fail to push the envelope past black belt (sash, etc.) Students can continue to do the same things that got them to the black belt. And there's certainly value in that. But too often, schools don't really have a plan beyond that.

I'm not talking fancy new kicks or special forms or anything. But schools often don't even intensify sparring, introduce more freestyle drills, etc.

When I got my black sash, I moved on to another school too. Why? Because my training at that school translated into "show up, teach the classes, and go home." And while you can learn a lot from teaching, you learn a lot from training too. That's the attitude that gets you to the black belt. And it needs to be sustained afterward.