PDA

View Full Version : training needed before combat effective

LoFatGai
06-13-2003, 12:11 PM
Hello All,
I am fairly new to the WC game, with several years of Kenpo training before WC.
I know this is mostly up to the person's dedication, but I was wondering how long it took before you were confident in using your WC skills in a self defense situation. Do you think with WC one will not really be able to use it in combat until a very advance level having mastered the sensitivity part of it?
thanks!
lfg

John Weiland
06-13-2003, 01:06 PM
Originally posted by LoFatGai
Hello All,
I am fairly new to the WC game, with several years of Kenpo training before WC.
I know this is mostly up to the person's dedication, but I was wondering how long it took before you were confident in using your WC skills in a self defense situation.

Your mileage may vary, but questions of confidence and self defense are far ranging and impossible to answer for others. We've all probably met ****y self assured novices and reluctant, humble pros.

Do you think with WC one will not really be able to use it in combat until a very advance level having mastered the sensitivity part of it?

Combat? In combat, I doubt a novice will use good Wing Chun. However, early on in Wing Chun training, we learn to stay close and respond---not a bad start for most. Bad Wing Chun is better than no Wing Chun.

Regards,

John Weiland
06-13-2003, 01:08 PM
Originally posted by John Weiland

We've all probably met ****y self assured novices and reluctant, humble pros.

The censors struck out c-o-c-k-y. I think they don't know what it means.

Gandolf269
06-14-2003, 06:27 PM
LoFatGai -