PDA

View Full Version : Jkd? Or Mma?

Yung Apprentice
06-26-2003, 10:31 PM
Hi there. I had been training JKD for a couple months but recently lost my job, and have no money for it. But thats neither here, nor there. Anyways, at the school I learned at, once a week another teacher came in and taught BJJ to us. Which was pretty neat. My question is, since the essence of JKD is to research and find out what is usefull to YOU, and throw out what is not, couldn't mixed martial artists be considered practioners of JKD?

Kempo Guy
06-27-2003, 09:25 AM
YES

bonetone
06-27-2003, 05:06 PM
JKD is a philosophy, not a system. If mma are following the principles of JKD then they could be considered as doing JkD.

Yung Apprentice
07-02-2003, 02:08 AM
But isn't that the main principle? To research and find out what is usefull to YOU, and throw out what is not? And isn't that what they are doing?

HuangKaiVun
07-13-2003, 06:25 PM
Come by my school, Yung Apprentice.

I'm in Phoenix, so that's not all that far from you. I'd love to show you OUR kung fu style, which is essentially old-school combat kung fu done with a MMA twist.

Maybe I can even help you find employment out here.

Yung Apprentice
07-13-2003, 07:50 PM
I was born in Mesa, and lived in Phoenix when I was young. The school I go is like that too. Old school style combat, with a MMA twist, but I would love to visit your school one day.

HuangKaiVun
07-14-2003, 01:11 PM
What school was that?

I am familiar with most of the schools out in Mesa, having visited quite a few of them.

My school is located at the cross streets of Warner and Dobson Roads, southwest corner. We're next to C-Fu Gourmet and Peruanitos, both of which you may have heard of. "Huang's Kung Fu Academy" is the name, and come by at night.

My student, who used to work in the local "Karate Mart", told me that the schools that survive in Phoenix are the MMA schools like mine (though nominally we're a traditional kung fu school).