PDA

View Full Version : 100 nothing, or 50/50

flaco
06-29-2003, 05:08 PM
just wondering on your take on shifting. i first studied wt,for about 8 years,where the shifting is at leastb 80/20 weigh bearing,and shifting with the toes nailed to the floor, now this comes from leung ting, who learned from leung sheum, from what i know, he studied only a little with yip, mostly leung. leungs linege is also kenneth chung, and the theory behind their shifting makes sense, and the weight on the rear leg makes sense for kicking, and the opponent doesnt see your shoulders move while kicking, etc.
but when i started training augustine fongs style, he is 50/50, and shifts with the heels stuck to the floor, so it was hard to get used to for me. now fongs explanation was that while shifting on the heels, the body stays as one unit without losing the structure, and while shifting the wt way, you do lose the attachment of upper and lower triangles for a split second. i have practiced fongs way now, and the body does stay connected more, but i feel the wt way has some good meritb while in close, so i do both, but whats your opinions?

Grendel
06-29-2003, 05:43 PM
Originally posted by flaco
but whats your opinions?
Ignorance stops growth. :p

yuanfen
06-29-2003, 07:04 PM
On 100-0 and 50-50.
Let's specify the key context- the chum kiu turn and related facing.
Those are for training. In real action all kinds of shifts will occur
and there are some differnt weightings in the advanced do and kwan work.

In both types of weighting- there are different counterbalances for having an integrated approach. The key in both approaches is being shown well and learning well.

whippinghand1
06-29-2003, 08:18 PM
All variations of weight distribution are important to adapt to various situations & forces. Kicking, in Wing Chun, is not used to bridge the gap. Weight distribution with respect to kicking, therefore, is relational to what the hands are doing and the situation of your body.

[Censored]