PDA

View Full Version : I suck and need help =)

Scott
10-13-2000, 06:03 PM
Alright, here goes.
Every time when I'm about to spar, I feel stiff and .. not all there. I freeze up and wait for my opponent to attack me, and my movements are stiff and jerky. I've been doing Wing Chun for about 6 months. Is meditation my answer? And how I apply meditation to my training? I feel like when I'm sparring that I can't even feel or move my legs, sometimes. I do decent occasionally, but I know I'm not *really* fighting, I'm just doing techniques that I practiced in class. I'm sure some other beginners have had this problem (I hope.) How did you overcome? How should I?

-Scott.

"You have to consider the possibility that god does not like you; he never wanted you. In all probability, he hates you. It is not until we have lost everything that we can do anything."

Tekarius
10-13-2000, 07:00 PM
I guess if you spar more, you will eventually be good at it.

Shinakira
10-14-2000, 07:08 PM
well i have been fighting for three years now. and with the same sparing buddy. I can fight anyone without any fear. probably because i don't know what to expect, and can go all out.

no the other hand training with the same fool, for a while and i know each move and how hard its going to attack.. I tend to freeze up and almost fear actual impact weather i am blocking or not.
and this hinders my ability, and i do more retreating than fighting.

just resently i went through some serious soul serching... I cannot fight in fear. I have to want it. want to win. Want to be the best. almost treat it like a game "soccer or football"