PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a new student

BeWater
07-15-2003, 04:45 AM
Hi!

I recently started studying Wing Chun -- I'm about six weeks into it. Two questions:

1. If you could go back, is there anything you'd do differently as a beginning WC student? Perhaps do more Siu Lim Tao, pay more attention to posture, etc. Any nuggets of wisdom are greatly appreciated!

2. Can you recommend any supplemental activities that have greatly enhanced your WC ability? And I don't (necessarily) mean things like BJJ which may enhance your overall combat effectiveness -- I'm wondering specificially about things that augment your WC. Perhaps Chi Kung exercises?

Thanks!

PQS
07-15-2003, 04:57 AM
The thing I found the hardest was training at home by myself, I have been trainng a year or so and am just starting to realise that it is all in the forms
good luck in your studies and enjoy
Regards
Peter

anerlich
07-15-2003, 05:04 AM
1. If you have any physical problems or injuries which prevent you training properly, get professional help for them.

Hasten slowly. Heaps of guys I have seen go for it full tilt, train six days a week, and burn out after a few months. Start out at a mderate pace and only ramp it up when you are sure body and mind can handle it.

Keep an open mind. Don't believe everything you hear without verifying it for yourself.

2. It is IMHO highly debatable whether qigong has any value for health cultivation. For combat effectiveness, IMO it is a complete waste of time, except *possibly* at elite levels, though from what I've seen most WC teachers only offer it to attract or keep students who don't like or can't handle hard WC training. I'm still waiting to be proved wrong.

Basic strength, flexibility and endurance training will help. Don't worry about learning other stuff like BJJ until you have a solid grounding in WC.

One more piece of advice - stay off WC internet forums. They're full of the weird, hopeless and depraved.

yuanfen
07-15-2003, 06:31 AM