PDA

View Full Version : Does Kung Fu really work on the street?

Vince D.
11-13-2000, 07:35 PM
From the experiences I have had out on the street,which has been a lot, I have noticed that when faced with a situation the martial artist or "Kung fu man" usually tends to freeze not knowing what to do because he/she has never been faced with a real combat situation like that before. The first couple of times, when learning Kung fu, that I have faced a situation like this I found myself feeling very helpless. After studying for a while with my Sigung he started getting into it more and more. See, you have to learn not to think about who wins or loses, and you cant be afraid of getting hurt, cause yea, it happens. Instead you must realize that the fear and all that adrenaline that you are feeling is a good thing, and you must use that to your advantage. The next time I found myself getting in a fight on the street, since I have had some experience before, I was more relaxed I mean yea I was still afraid but I knew deep down inside that I could take this guy out. All of a sudden he attacked but since I was more relaxed,not caring what the outcome was, I found myself just flowing right in there putting a quick end to my opponent. It seemed that it was all of my basic instinct along with control because I hardly remember what I did but I was still standing. So I think that as long as you gain experience and learn to use fear and adrenaline to your advantage,and also have a very calm attitude towards this, your Kung fu training or any for that matter will come in handy. WHAT DO YOU THINK? /infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif dewald_vincent@hotmail.com

Vincent Paul DeWald

MonkeySlap Too
11-13-2000, 07:44 PM
I've never known a properly trained Kung Fu man to 'freeze'.

I am a big beleiver in luck. The more I work, the more luck I have.

Water Dragon
11-13-2000, 08:22 PM
Key phrase being "properly trained" /infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif