PDA

View Full Version : has ne one been in a knife situation?

diz84
02-23-2001, 02:41 PM
there is all these knife defences and ways of not gettin stabbed or slashed with a knife right?
jus wondering has ne one used these knife defences or been in a situation defending against a knife?

JerryLove
02-23-2001, 05:41 PM
I've been in altercations involving bladed weapons, but not since I started training. I will say that I know many excellent martial artists and great fighters whose knife defense strategies will get them killed against anyone competent or desperate.

Seeker of the Way
02-23-2001, 07:13 PM
I've been slashed once. I'd trained for quite a while then, but it didn't help... I totally froze up. Luckily, he was not much of a hardened criminal and froze in terror when he saw that he had slashed me in the arm. This allowed me to come to my senses, get him on the ground, and run.

Peace,
SotW.

"I know Kung Fu."

oldwolf
02-24-2001, 10:05 PM
Firstly I would like to say that no matter how good you reckon you are, you are most likely to get cut. I've got a few scars on my forearms and hands from blades. The way I train my students is to have sessions where the knife is a jumbo magic marker pen, try it out you'll come out like Josephs dream coat. But it will show you which techniques are 'realistic'. :D

"And the crowd called out for more"

YiLiQuan1
02-25-2001, 06:32 AM
Once, many years ago, I was on my way back home from class when I was accosted by a would be mugger.

He pulled a fairly mediocre folding blade out and demanded my wallet.

I politely told him no, and he went away quietly.

Of course, the fact that I was on my way home after weapons class, and had my broadsword (sharpened I might add) with me may have had some impact on his decision making process...

:)

Matt Stone

MonkeySlap Too
02-25-2001, 08:29 PM