PDA

View Full Version : What is it with UK Lau Gar

pat1
08-06-2003, 08:58 AM
I have been studying Lau Gar for 5 years. Why is it that Lau gar students get such grief from other Kung Fu styles.

Pakmei
08-07-2003, 12:57 AM
Pat,

It could be due to the impression that the Lau Gar schools in the UK come across as being very commercial and not particularly Traditional.

From what I have seen of Lau Gar, most people who practise Lau Gar have this unknown tendancy to to fight like a kick boxer.
Personally the way I see things is, if your learning a Traditional style of Martial arts then you should learn to the techniques of that style and be able to apply them to any situation.

Instead you learn the forms but you guys are taught to fight like kick boxers... to my mind, if your going to fight / spar like a kick boxer then you'd be better off going to learn at a kick boxing school.

I'm sure there are others reasons why the Lau Gar people get quite a lot of flack especially from the more traditional styles of Chinese Martial Arts. It's not just the Lau Gar people tho, it's also the people of practise Wu Shu Kwan as well.

pat1
08-07-2003, 01:42 AM
Pakmei, thanks for your reply. Its a pity that alot of other people don't get to see the traditional side of Lau Gar. It seems that the kickboxing side is easy bait for putting down Lau Gar.

When you see people like John Russell or Andy Nation teach and demostrate you will see a completely different view on it all.

I hope that the views which many express on these forums about Lau gar are from people just seeing the kickboxing side, and if one day they are lucky enough to see the teachers mentioned above or for that the many many other traditional guys, then maybe their views will be changed.

CHAZ
08-07-2003, 02:09 PM