PDA

View Full Version : Endurance

the running guy
02-18-2001, 01:26 AM
As my screen name says, I like running. I consider myself to be in incredible cardiovascular shape. At the age of 17 I started training and competing in ultramarathons. Yet even with my phenomenal endurance I still get winded easily in sparring matches. Not being able to catch one's breath is a dangerous situation in a street fight. How can I train so I don't get winded so easily?

JerryLove
02-18-2001, 01:54 AM
Dame way you trained for running. Do it. You body needs to figure out how to get those muscles to work propery, what to relax, and what rythems to find.

Most fighting is not in rythem, so you will not last as long as you do running.

8stepsifu
02-18-2001, 02:10 AM
I was born and raised in Coos Bay....I assume you live in Eugene. How is God's country?

the running guy
02-18-2001, 03:04 AM
Actually, I live a bit closer to Portland. I might make it down to Eugene if I end up going to the University of Oregon. If anyone has any training tips (for martial arts or running) I'd really appreciate hearing them

jacob360
02-18-2001, 06:30 AM
I can't remember where I read about this, but oh well. You have trained your body to maintain a certain level of activity for long periods of time. Try 50 yard dashes. Sprint as hard and fast as you can, then jog backwards to the starting point, and repeat until you get tired. I heard this really helps with the explosive bursts of energy needed in a fight. A good way to balance is do this every other day, then do your regular running every other day. You'll get the best of both worlds. I'm definitely not an expert or anything, and like I said I can't remember where I learned about this, but it seems to make sense. When I trained in Western Boxing when I was younger, a trainer told me to run as fast as I could for three minutes (the length of a round) then walk for one minute (the period in between rounds), seems to be the same concept.

PEACE