PDA

View Full Version : Squat observation, and question

IronFist
08-15-2003, 02:31 PM
Even though I'm weak, I still try to use perfect form. So, when I squat I go all the way down.

Last night I noticed that instead of going all the way down (below parallel) like how I normally do it, if I stop at parallel and then go back up the squat was much harder. I was like, "what the hell?" Why would that be? Is it because when I go down all the way I'm using the bottom position as a cusion or something? Or have I been doing the squat equivalent of bouncing the bar off your chest when you bench?

Maybe that's why after 4 years of squatting I'm still weak, and after a few months of not going to the gym I'm back at the same strength level I was at before I started lifting (yeah, that's 4 years of gains gone in a few months). Maybe I should be putting that little pause in at the bottom or something.

Anyone know why less ROM = harder squat? And which way should I do it? I like squatting all the way down because it keeps me flexible in that movement, as well as works the muscles through a longer ROM. Also, I can feel superior to people who use tons of weight but only go down to 45 degrees. But if it's hindering my development I'm going to quit doing it.

IronFist

abobo
08-15-2003, 04:36 PM
I get below parallel but a couple inches short of hamstrings touching calves, so I asked around on Dr. Squat and they assured me that full squats are the best way to go.

rubthebuddha
08-17-2003, 02:14 AM
it's all about braking (not breaking).

when you go all the way down, you can use your ass for a cushion to stop. when you stop before then, you use your quads and glutes. at least that's how it is for me.

Samurai Jack
08-17-2003, 12:27 PM