PDA

View Full Version : What is your workout for mantis?

Youngmantis
08-17-2003, 01:39 AM
Hi all i was just wondering what is your workout for praying mantis, which style and what kind or how many, punches and kicks you do to practice praying mantis. I'm fairly new to martial arts and message boards and really new to kung fu, particulary praying mantis. So please if any of you have the time to answer.

WanderingMonk
08-17-2003, 07:41 PM
Hi YM

Here's two links for PM strength training threads. That should give you some idea about PM strength training method and equipments.

http://forum.kungfumagazine.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=21010&highlight=strength+training
http://forum.kungfumagazine.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=23159&highlight=strength+training

This is a link on instructor test post. Good for general info on the type of conditioning you might want to shoot for.

http://forum.kungfumagazine.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=19596&highlight=instructor+test

BTW, I reply to your thread on wrestling vs kung fu in the main forum. I didn't know how new you were to the MA game until I saw your thread in the training forum. So, don't take my reply personally.

good luck with your training and enjoy.

wm

Youngmantis
08-17-2003, 10:36 PM
thanks so much those links help me alot

bung bo
08-25-2003, 01:03 PM
Young mantis--i asked this a while ago and used some of the info and pieced a workout together. i've read for grip strenth to use one of those grip strengtheners that are for the induvidual digits. i've seen them at wal-mart and sport seasons. there are also good two person exercises you can do. these are fun. lots of different kinds of crunches and pushups. some hard chikung. i don't like to go really heavy on the weights but moderately heavy.ust remember to stretch good. and, of course, gong fu. keep up your gong fu training to keep your strength functional.

Shaolin-Do
08-25-2003, 02:01 PM