PDA

View Full Version : Learning Chen

bodhitree
08-21-2003, 05:31 AM
Hellow all
I've been practicing Yang taijiquan for a couple years now and wish to learn Chen. I picked up a set of videos with Lao Jia Yi Lu.
It is way different then Yang, and some of the movements are difficult to understand.
Any Advice?
There is only one Chen style sifu that I know of in the Pittsburgh area and he is far away from where I am.
Is it okay to learn it from a video, I do have a background w/a good training lineage
I dunnnknow what do you guys think?

Laughing Cow
08-21-2003, 05:58 AM
Take this with a pinch of salt, as I am doing Small Frame.

Chen, IMO, is very hard to pick up from a Tape, even with my Instructor I got plenty of corrections and had to unlearn a lot.

Most of the tapes, don't cover Silk reeling and other exercises well.

Also there are great variances within the styles between teachers.

Hope this helps.

Brad
08-21-2003, 06:30 AM
Hellow all
I've been practicing Yang taijiquan for a couple years now and wish to learn Chen. I picked up a set of videos with Lao Jia Yi Lu.
It is way different then Yang, and some of the movements are difficult to understand.
Any Advice?
There is only one Chen style sifu that I know of in the Pittsburgh area and he is far away from where I am.
Is it okay to learn it from a video, I do have a background w/a good training lineage
I dunnnknow what do you guys think?

I think you'd be better off just becoming good at whatever taiji you have access too with a qualified teacher. Even if the form's techniques look a lot different, there are a lot of important things all taiji styles have in common... and you'll pick up Chen style a lot quicker when you do find a teacher :) BTW, how far is Harrisburg from Pittsburgh?

wujimon
08-21-2003, 08:09 PM