PDA

View Full Version : I NEED YOUR HELP TO DESIGN A SPARRING TRAINING PROGRAM???

Fu-Pow
03-18-2001, 12:06 AM
Hello All!!! I've been studying Gung Fu for about 4 years now. I know quite a few hand forms, weapons forms, 2 man sparring routines, etc. However, what has been lacking in my training is lots of application and sparring. Although my teacher is very knowledgable and a good martial artist he is more interested in teaching the art than in teaching the application. Therefore, my sparring skills and application training have been kind of left to my own design.
Here is where you come in. I am trying to design a sparring program going from basic 2 person choreographed hand combos all the way up to multiple assailant, multiple unsharpened weapon free sparring. This, I believe, is the highest level of training and I also think that without this kind of application training kung fu will slowly die. Without at least "testing" our forms our styles slowly become diluted and weakened. I think this is what Bruce Lee was getting at.
I already have some excercises that I have learned that train hand eye coordination, reflex etc. but I have had trouble putting it all into a unified program. Therefore, any input on training for the above is much apprectiated. If you can outline a whole step by step program, that would be even better.

Things that could/should be trained in the program.
-Eye-Body Coordination
-Deceptiveness
-Ability to take a hit (ie iron shirt)
-Rythm
-Explosiveness
-Endurance
-Footwork
-Toughening of anatomical weapons (ie shin, arms)
-Conservation/Efficiency
-Incorporation of Chi Na/Throws/Sweeps/Groundfighting
-Hand to Hand
-Hand to Weapon
-Attitude
-W

Thank you and good luck!!!

Fu-Pow

mantis108
03-18-2001, 12:51 AM
Fu-Pow,

With all due respect, this is your Sifu's job. Should you feel the direction which he is taking is not your cup of tea, then you should consider other alternatives.