PDA

View Full Version : martial arts in physical education

shaolinarab
08-28-2003, 03:31 PM
you know, i always thought it would be a dream if all American kids learned martial arts as part of their P.E. classes because of all the great physical and mental benefits, of which i don't have to elaborate. i do miss the good ol' days of playing kickball or football in the field, but imagine how children would turn out if they learned martial arts from childhood (like some of you on the boards of course).
many kids experience the karate/TKD route at some point (how many told friends (who are now in 20's or 30's) you were studying martial arts who then responded, "cool. i studied MA a while back and got my TKD or karate black or brown belt when i was 9.") but then they never study MA again.
what would it take for such a dramatic change in elementary curricula? do we need to get arnie to help us do what he did in the 80's?
then again, many may be against this absurd idea because they would hate practicing something that would become seemingly 'mundane.' because we then wouldn't be able to say, ' i study the secret art of .... with this lineage.... ;)
well, where do you see the progression of martial arts training in America going? perhaps Fu pow cringes at the notion that we might eventually give up the wearing of the 'age-old' sashes and shoes and don overalls and sandals while practicing our forms?! :p

Fu-Pow
08-28-2003, 03:36 PM
It would be cool to teach traditional MA's but not pseudo Chinese Japanese martial arts with made up forms.....:rolleyes:

CaptinPickAxe
08-28-2003, 08:36 PM
But, alas, this is America, and Americans love TKD/Karate more than any Chinese MA. So the choice would be Karate or TKD.
You can thank the olymipics for the infatuation with both.

But then again, Chinese Martial Arts are on the rise...thanks in part to the nation-wide span of Shaolin-Do.

David Jamieson
08-28-2003, 08:47 PM